The Bolshevik Revolution

World War I demonstrated czarist corruption and inefficiency, and only patriotism held the poorly equipped army together for a time. Disorders broke out in Petrograd (renamed Leningrad and now St. Petersburg) in March 1917, and defection of the Petrograd garrison launched the revolution. Nicholas II was forced to abdicate on March 15, 1917, and he

Quick facts about Russia

Eastern Europe and Northern Asia, bordering the Arctic Ocean, between Europe and the North Pacific Ocean. Largest country in the world in terms of area; Mount Elbrus is Europe’s tallest peak in Europe. Area: total: 17,075,200 sq km water: 79,400 sq km Climate: ranges from humid continental in much of European Russia through steppes in

Russia Again…

Geography The Russian Federation is the largest of the 21 republics that make up the Commonwealth of Independent States. It occupies most of eastern Europe and north Asia, stretching from the Baltic Sea in the west to the Pacific Ocean in the east, and from the Arctic Ocean in the north to the Black Sea


Fast Facts about Russia Country name The official name for Russia is either Russian Federation or Russia. Both names are equal according to the Russian Constitution. In Russian script, they are spelled as Российская Федерация and Россия accordingly. Capital city The capital of Russia is Moscow, or Москва in Russian script. Moscow is the largest

Four religions are official: Orthodox Christianity, Islam, Buddhism and Judaism

Religion Four religions are official: Orthodox Christianity, Islam, Buddhism and Judaism Since the fall of communism, religion has thrived with churches and monasteries springing up all over the country Decades of Soviet rule have left their mark: up to half of Russians declare themselves atheists, although figures vary. Among believers Orthodox Christianity dominates, but smaller

83 federal entities

Administrative division 83 federal entities Russia is made up of 83 federal entities. Some of them are called republics, others are regions and there are also autonomies They all have equal representation in the Russian parliament but differ in the degree of autonomy they enjoy. Their administrative heads are often referred to as “governors”, although