Rulers of Russia Since 1533…

Name Ruled1 Born Ivan IV the Terrible 1533–1584 1530 Theodore I 1584–1598 1557 Boris Godunov 1598–1605 c.1551 Theodore II 1605–1605 1589 Demetrius I2 1605–1606 ? Basil IV Shuiski 1606–16103 ? “Time of Troubles” 1610–1613 — Michael Romanov 1613–1645 1596 Alexis I 1645–1676 1629 Theodore III 1676–1682 1656 Ivan V4 1682–16895 1666 Peter I the Great4

Putin’s Rise to Power

In a decision that took Russia and the world by surprise, Boris Yeltsin resigned on Dec. 31, 1999, and Vladimir Putin became the acting president. In Feb. 2000, after almost five months of fighting, Russian troops captured Grozny. It was a political as well as a military victory for Putin, whose hard-line stance against Chechnya

Dissolution of the USSR

Gorbachev’s promised reforms began to falter, and he soon had a formidable political opponent agitating for even more radical restructuring. Boris Yeltsin, president of the Russian SSR, began challenging the authority of the federal government and resigned from the Communist Party along with other dissenters in 1990. On Aug. 29, 1991, an attempted coup d’état

Emergence of the USSR

The Union of Soviet Socialist Republics was established as a federation on Dec. 30, 1922. The death of Lenin on Jan. 21, 1924, precipitated an intraparty struggle between Joseph Stalin, general secretary of the party, and Trotsky, who favored swifter socialization at home and fomentation of revolution abroad. Trotsky was dismissed as commissar of war