Such a sleepy holiday in Russia…

January 1st till January 8th and all of Russia literally comes to a halt. I kind of like it and have grown use to it. When I first came to Russia many years ago, I was taken back by the fact that the whole country shut down and people partied until they ran out of money and or booze. Russians have lots of extra spending money and the ones who drink? This is the holiday of all holidays….plus Russians shoot fireworks like no tomorrow and this shooting of fireworks will last about the whole week they are off. Once again, the limitations is when everyone runs out of money, booze and fireworks…

Though as the title suggests….this holiday is sleepy and quiet. You can walk the daytime streets of Moscow and find at best 25% of the normal people out and about. Svetochka and I take advantage of such moments in life and go see things…

Yes I like the holidays in Russia and below is a table of the 2018 holidays to come…

Date Weekday Holiday Name Holiday Type
Jan 1 Monday New Year’s Day National holiday
Jan 2 Tuesday New Year Holiday Week National holiday
Jan 3 Wednesday New Year Holiday Week National holiday
Jan 4 Thursday New Year Holiday Week National holiday
Jan 5 Friday New Year Holiday Week National holiday
Jan 7 Sunday Orthodox Christmas Day National holiday, Orthodox
Jan 8 Monday New Year Holiday Week National holiday
Jan 14 Sunday Old New Year Observance
Feb 14 Wednesday Valentine’s Day Observance
Feb 23 Friday Defender of the Fatherland Day National holiday
Feb 27 Tuesday Special Operations Forces Day De facto holiday
Mar 8 Thursday International Women’s Day National holiday
Mar 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
Apr 8 Sunday Orthodox Easter Day Observance, Orthodox
Apr 28 Saturday Spring and Labor Day Holiday Working day (moved weekend)
Apr 30 Monday Spring and Labor Day Holiday National holiday
May 1 Tuesday Spring and Labor Day National holiday
May 9 Wednesday Victory Day National holiday
Jun 9 Saturday Working day – moved weekend Working day (moved weekend)
Jun 11 Monday Russia Day Weekend National holiday
Jun 12 Tuesday Russia Day National holiday
Jun 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
Sep 1 Saturday Day of Knowledge De facto holiday
Sep 23 Sunday September equinox Season
Nov 4 Sunday Unity Day National holiday
Nov 5 Monday Unity Day observed National holiday
Dec 21 Friday December Solstice Season
Dec 29 Saturday Working day – moved weekend Working day (moved weekend)

Have a nice day…

WtR

kKEETON @ Windows to Russia…

Permission to reprint in whole or in part is gladly granted, provided full credit is given...